David  E.  Rutkowski

David E. Rutkowski



Practice Groups

David E. Rutkowski defends clients against personal injury and wrongful death claims in toxic tort, environmental, product liability, and mass tort litigation in state and federal trial courts. His toxic tort experience includes defending cases involving alleged exposures to asbestos, Legionella bacteria, benzene, and salmonella, among other toxins. His clients include product manufacturers, premises owners, lessees, restaurants, and food and beverage manufacturers. Dave has participated in multiple multimillion-dollar asbestos trials and has successfully resolved numerous high-value cases through extensive, complex settlement negotiations.

Dave is a key contributing writer on asbestos litigation for the firm’s award-winning Asbestos Case Tracker, which has been named to the ABA Journal's prestigious Blawg 100 and the Best Litigation Blog for the last three years by the Expert Institute in its annual legal blog contest. He is also a frequent contributor to Life Science Matters, the firm's blog covering the life sciences and medical device industries.

In 2010, Dave received his J.D. from Rutgers School of Law.  During his studies, he assisted a group of attorneys defending New York City and numerous private contractors in the World Trade Center litigation.

  • New Jersey Super Lawyers, Rising Star 2017 (Thomson Reuters)
Admitted to Practice
  • New York
  • New Jersey
  • U.S. District Court for the District of New Jersey
  • Rutgers School of Law, J.D., 2010
  • University of Delaware, B.A., 2005
  • "Appellate Roundtable and Summary Judgment Decisions," Perrin New York Asbestos Litigation Conference, New York, NY, December 4, 2018
  • Local Chair and Moderator, Toxic Tort Litigation 2017 NYSBA Seminar, New York, NY, June 9, 2017
  • "Emerging Toxins and How They Have Impacted the Industry" (Co-Presenter), Toxic Tort Litigation 2017 NYSBA Seminar, New York, NY, June 9, 2017
  • "Defending Foodborne Illness Claims" (Co-Presenter), Dover, NH, March 21, 2017